How long do I have to file my case if I have been hurt in a New Jersey tractor-trailer wreck?
You have two years to file your case under New Jersey’s statute of limitations. Minors under 18 years old at the time of an accident will have until their 20th birthday to file a case. In New York, you will have three years to file, except in cases of wrongful death, in which you will only have two years. In truck accident cases in New York, a minor will usually be given until his or her 21st birthday to file.
It is important to contact a lawyer at Davis, Saperstein & Salomon, P.C., as soon as possible to allow for time to build your case and consult with experts before filing. Failure to file on time usually prevents any type of recovery. However, if the truck was owned by the federal or state government, including any of their agencies, counties, towns or municipalities, then a “Tort Claim Act” would apply to your case. These acts require you to put the government on notice of your intention to make a claim by providing the details of your claim in a special form called a “Tort Claims Notice.”
In New Jersey, this notice must be done no later than 90 days after the accident. To find out about federal or state “Tort Claim Act” laws, contact our firm right away.